.comment-link {margin-left:.6em;}

The New Crusade

A Blog dedicated to the promotion of the Traditional Roman Catholic Faith in union with HH Benedict XVI, to the preservation of our Traditional Græco-Roman Catholic Civilisation and to the New Crusade against Islam. This Blog is under the Patronage of the Sacred and Immaculate Hearts of Christ our King and His Holy Mother, our Queen and of Santiago Matamoros (St James the Moor-slayer) and the Crusader King, St Louis IX of France.

04 février 2006

Pridie Non. Feb. AUC 2758/AM 7514

Today is the Feast of St Andrew Corsini, O.Carm., B&C. His biography from The Catholic Encyclopædia.

From the East:

  • Isidore of Pelusium

  • Nicholas the Confessor

  • Tradition in Action's Saint of the Day:

  • St Joan of Valois

  • St Isidore of Pelusium

  • From Ted Hewitt's Group:

    3 Feb:

  • Bl. Odoric of Pordenone

  • St Blaise

  • 4 Feb:

  • Feast of the Flight into Egypt

  • Ste Jeanne de Valois

  • On this day:

    AD 211, Lucius Septimus Severus, Roman Emperor, 193-211, dies. Pray for his soul.

    AD 708, His Holiness, Pope Sisinnius dies. (R+I+P)

    AD 856, Hrabanus Maurus, Archbishop of Mainz, dies. (R+I+P)

    AD 1189, St Gilbert of Sempringham Monastic founder, dies.

    AD 1194, His Majesty, Richard I, King of the English and Duke of the Normans and Aquitanians and Count of the Angevins, pays 150 000 marks ransom to His Imperial Majesty, Henry VII, Roman Emperor in the West, and is freed from captivity.

    AD 1503, Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth, Consort of His Majesty, Henry VII, King of England and Lord of Ireland, dies. (R+I+P)

    AD 1508, His Imperial Majesty, Maximilian, with the assent of His Holiness, Pope Julius II, takes the title of Elected Roman Emperor (Erwählter Römischer Kaiser), and thus ends the centuries-old custom that the Roman Emperor in the West had to be crowned by the pope.

    AD 1714, Charles de Bourbon, Duc de Berry, the grandson of His Most Christian Majesty, Louis XIV, King of France and Navarre, dies. (R+I+P)

    AD 1861, Constitutional Convention of the Confederate States of America meets for first time, in Montgomery AL. Delegates from Georgia, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi and South Carolina elect Jefferson Davis, President of Confederacy.


    Enregistrer un commentaire

    Links to this post:

    Créer un lien

    << Home